naming the emotion

I just posted a comment on Jaen Wirefly’s blog and I thought maybe I’d post it here to remind myself and share the skill with others that may not know it.  Jaen is a smart cookie so I’m not saying anything she doesn’t already know, but I know from experience that being a social worker means we learn an incredible amount of skills and it’s impossible to remember them all the time.  Espesh when we live with emotional dysregulation ourselves.  Anyway, here’s my comment:

“One of the things we can learn to do is name our emotions – we tend to only think of things as “ANGRY” or “devastated :( ” or “SO HAPPY :D ” so we think we have a smaller range of emotions. But learning to define our emotions with other names and to distinguish between them, to learn that while we are experiencing SO ANGRY we can also experience other emotions, helps us to let them go and/or respond to them more appropriately. Just a thought!

http://www.listofhumanemotions.com/listofhumanemotions

A brilliant professor of mine said we can learn to see our emotions as if on a ticker tape (does anyone even know what that is anymore, ha) – we can view it separate from our bodies, watch it go by, watch it leave…which then gives us room to see what comes next on that ticker tape.  To experience the next emotion…to let go of the one that makes us feel so out of control.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “naming the emotion

  1. clownonfire says:

    Jaen and you both kick serious asses!
    Le Clown

  2. Jaen Wirefly says:

    Thank you so much for this Bipolar one. As you know struggling with mental illness is hard and admitting it to the world is a bit terrifying. This post makes me feel as if it’s OK to be a little broken.

    I cannot thank you enough;)

  3. […] makes me think life is worthless, it’s anger and fear!  I’ve discussed my inability to name my emotions before, and with this new insight I feel like I have one more glimpse into the dysregulated organ […]

Leave a Reply

