i’m not ready.

I couldn’t digest that he could fall in love with someone else while I still loved him. At that point, I didn’t understand love could be one-sided like that. I couldn’t imagine he told her the things he told me, or looked at her the same way.

In my deluded state, I actually felt sorry for her. This poor girl’s boyfriend is in love with his ex, I thought. It’s funny how easy it is to believe the unbelievable when it hurts less.

When do you fall out of love with your ex, when you break up because of reason and not because you don’t love each other? Which of you gets to move on first, and when it happens, does it mean the love has gone or just that we’ve chosen to go forward and hope it fades away completely?

The internet told me a lot about her. It told me she was beautiful and smart. It told me she was social and her smile made her seem kind. I wanted to hate her, but I couldn’t.

She took pictures with children and smiled wholeheartedly in photos. She laughed in a way that seemed authentic. She looked like the kind of girl who didn’t take long to get ready.

She’s perfect.  Probably not perfect, I mean, but people love her and it seems like they should. The same people who love me love her, so she must be special.

I noticed when she became friends with his sisters and took a photo with his mother. I saw him wearing the watch I bought him as he stood next to her on a vacation they took together. I saw them driving in the car we kissed in — the car we broke up in.

I saw their relationship go the places ours had gone and to places it had not.

I’m not ready for the places it has not.

A beautiful, tortuous essay, published on Buzzfeed of all places. Read the full, painful post here: I watched my ex fall in love with someone else on Facebook.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

