Cheers for EDNOS!

What’s worse, an eating disorder lacking a clear label can deter people from help. “Often people with eating disorders of any type really minimize it” – name or no name, DeNicola says.

That tendency can be even greater when the condition’s identity is elusive, Kracov says. “When you don’t fit into those categories it’s really easy to say, ‘That’s not me. This isn’t a problem,’ when really, you’re still thinking about food all of the time – it’s taking over your life,” she says.

Read more about it here (from February 2015): When Your Eating Disorder Doesn’t Have a Name.

What’s really interesting to me is that I began eating again during my study abroad in Argentina (a girl in the above article re-discovered food in German). I’m interested to know how we can create experiences like that for people with disordered eating who don’t have the opportunities that we did.

And the thesis develops…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cheers for EDNOS!

  1. When I was in my early 20s, I probably had ab EDNOS. At 5’0, 100 pounds I wasn’t super skinny but consumed around 500-600 calories a day and ran twice a day. I’m not sure if the solution is “EDNOS” or maybe some combination of “EDNOS” and having a more flexible weight limit. Most athletes may not fall into the weight category if they have muscle but no fat. And there are a lot of athletes with eating disorders! It’s what started mine… If you have “disordered eating”, you probably need to get help. It can spiral downwards fairly quickly.

    • bipolar one, real life two. says:

      Yep, you’re exactly right! That’s why the field is trying to identify and name all the things that previously would have fallen under “NOS.” I usually call everything disordered eating with my patients instead of saying ‘you have an eating disorder’ or ‘people with eating disorders often….’ This way people don’t immediately become defensive. I love the evolving “industry” that is mental health!

Leave a Reply

